Réalisation Description
  • 0
  • Monday January 17th, 2022
OUR REALISATIONS

CHÂTEAU VOLTAIRE

55 RUE SAINT-ROCH, PARIS

CHÂTEAU VOLTAIRE

Thierry Gillier, founder of Zadig & Voltaire, has transformed the former headquarters of the brand (now too small) into a 5* hotel.

TO DO SO, A NAME: CHÂTEAU VOLTAIRE.
An artistic director: Franck Durand.
A tandem for the architecture and interior design: Charlotte de Tonnac and Hugo Sauzay from the Festen agency.
A lighting designer : Benoît Brégon of the Lightmakers studio.

Benoit Brégon, a lighting designer from Lightmakers, approached SOKA with a captivating problem: to develop a discreet spotlight for the façade, which is classified as a “historical monument”, in order to allow for a warm and elegant enhancement ?

Intérieur Hôtel Château Voltaire - Brasserie

The ROMEO was developed, prototyped and manufactured in cooperation with the research department and the designer. Indeed, by illuminating each of the 69 windows upwards with a color temperature of 2700°K, the luminous and warm side would certainly be present. Thus, each of the windows, facing the Opera and its romantic roofs of Paris, was equipped with these sconces. With a stone tone RAL, identical to the color of the facade, the lights blend into the decor. Composed of an intensive beam optic, then completed with an elliptical filter and a diffusing filter blurring the attack of light, the ROMEO, positioned on both sides of each window, delicately illuminate the edges of the windows while avoiding any loss of light.

The lighting designer wanted the luminosity on the façade to decrease from the bottom to the top for aesthetic reasons and to limit light pollution. The control system allows the creation of this atmosphere, which means that as you go up the floors, the lighting decreases. The result is uniform, friendly and welcoming, in perfect harmony with the “spirit” of the project.

For the lighting of the hotel’s dining rooms and common areas (entrance and lobby), Benoît Bregon needed projectors with a sleek, compact, high-performance design and a specific flux.

This collaboration led to the creation of the IOTA S.

All fixtures are 2700°K.

The ceilings are dressed with lattice moldings. In order to keep the aesthetics, the layout has been elaborated so that the general lighting is discreet and precise while being technically simple and adjustable. Thus, the fixing system consists of a framework of 48v rails suspended by specific rigid tubes in which IOTA S projectors are integrated. The ball of the projector is hidden by the rail; the electronic equipments are integrated into the adapter of the luminaire and the electric supplies are hidden inside the tubes of dressings as well as the threaded rods.

Façade de l'hôtel Château Voltaire et restaurant

The NAGA strips were used to light the reception area’s channels and to backlight the benches, the bar shelves and the library.

Finally, LED ribbons were integrated into light boxes to backlight the stained glass windows.

A light box is a box equipped with LED ribbons glued to a support and a diffuser on the front. The challenge is to calculate the ideal distance between the diffusing plate, the aluminum-dibon and the LED ribbon in order to generate a diffused light like natural lighting.

Hôtel Château Voltaire -accueil

Artistic director : Franck Durand
Interior Designer: Charlotte de Tonnac and Hugo Sauzay – Agence Festen
Lighting Designer : Benoît Brégon – Lightmakers
Photos : Francois Halard

ARTICLE PRESSE

Château Voltaire,
l’hôtel Nouvelle Vague de Festen
IDEAT
Fanny Liaux Gasquerel
Published on Friday 10 December 2021

“The word of the lighting designer”

Benoît Brégon de l'atelier Lightmakers

Quelles étaient vos principales problématiques ? Vos objectifs ? 

Benoit Bregon“The artistic direction of the project wished to create a timeless, warm place that blends several eras and decorative trends.
Our lighting design was adapted to this architectural vision, to the layout of the spaces and to the details designed by the FESTEN agency.
We have adapted the lighting to the decorations and supported the old-fashioned and friendly atmosphere imagined for the hotel.

For the interior, the light sources are in warm 2300K and 2700K tones, and the specific details of the furnishings are treated with discrete lighting or hidden in the woodwork: the luminous grooves in the hall are integrated into the fine moldings of the wall base panels; the restaurant seats, openworked in the manner of church pews, receive diffusing lights installed at the bottom of the furniture to release an enveloping light towards the walls and ceilings the antique stained glass windows in the back bar are treated as natural lighting by light boxes and the historic coffered ceilings by minimalist lighting rails dissociated from the ceilings, to respect the woodwork and not to disturb the vision of the whole.

The project is composed of several buildings and facades, built at different times. 

For the exteriors, the project manager’s ambition to create a coherent architectural whole required a link between the different facades. In agreement with the art director and the architect, we opted for a sober lighting of all the windows, allowing to homogenize the dimensions and modenatures of the different windows and cornices. 

The highlighting of some architectural details completes the ensemble. The entrance doors are lit by stylish lanterns, the bas-reliefs of the original “Coquille d’or” sign, the hotel’s coat of arms and the landscaping on the terrace by sets of small spotlights. “

What are the advantages of the ROMEO and the IOTA S, in your opinion?

Benoit Bregon

ROMEO
“For this project, the Louis Benech agency, the project’s landscape architect, imagined planters with substantial volumes on the sills. It was therefore not possible to illuminate the window frames with the classic elliptical mono-spot.
We therefore developed the ROMEO luminaire with the SOKA design office, which is positioned in a wall bracket above the window box and is equipped with a light beam optic – parallel to the facade to intersect with the opposite beam without spilling laterally towards the sky – and a half-moon diffusing filter to attenuate the attack and homogenize the effect on the entire opening. Its oblique visor reduces glare and its attachment mechanism allows adjustment by orientation of the light beam.”

IOTA S
“Optimized overall dimensions of the track and the spotlight and discretion of the plate which is entirely embedded in the track.
Suspension and cable passage principle in the thin rigid tubular hangers, allowing to be taken off the ceiling without visible cables and screws.”

PRODUCTS USED FOR THIS PROJECT

Newsletter

Would you like to receive our latest news and technical information on lighting? Then don't hesitate to subscribe to our newsletter!
Holler Box
Hello, do you have a question?


    Holler Box
    ×

Réalisation Description
  • 0
  • Monday 17 January 2022
NOS RÉALISATIONS

CHÂTEAU VOLTAIRE

55 RUE SAINT-ROCH, PARIS

CHÂTEAU VOLTAIRE

Thierry Gillier, fondateur de Zadig & Voltaire, a métamorphosé l’ancien siège de la marque (devenu trop petit) en hôtel 5*.

POUR SE FAIRE, UN NOM : CHÂTEAU VOLTAIRE.
Un directeur artistique : Franck Durand.
Un tandem pour l’architecture et la décoration intérieur : Charlotte de Tonnac et Hugo Sauzay de l’agence Festen.
Un lighting designer : Benoît Brégon de l’atelier Lightmakers.

Benoit Brégon, éclairagiste de chez Lightmakers, s’est en effet rapproché de SOKA avec une problématique captivante : développer un spot discret pour la façade classée « monument historique » afin de permettre une mise en valeur chaleureuse et élégante ?

Intérieur Hôtel Château Voltaire - Brasserie

Un travail de coopération entre le bureau d’études et le designer a permis de développer, prototyper et fabriquer le ROMEO. En effet, en éclairant chacune des 69 fenêtres vers le haut avec une température de couleur de 2700°K, le côté lumineux et chaleureux serait assurément présent. Ainsi, chacune des fenêtres, orientées vers l’Opéra et ses si romantiques toits de Paris, a été équipée de ces appliques. Avec un RAL ton pierre, identique à la couleur de la façade, les luminaires se fondent dans le décor. Composés d’une optique à faisceau intensif puis complété d’un filtre elliptique et d’un filtre diffusant floutant l’attaque de lumière, les ROMEO, positionnés de part et d’autre de chaque fenêtre, éclairent de manière délicate les pourtours des fenêtres en se gardant de toute déperdition de lumière

Le lighting designer souhaitait que la luminosité sur la façade soit décroissante de bas en haut dans un but esthétique et de limitation de la pollution lumineuse. Le système de pilotage permet ainsi de créer cette ambiance qui veut qu’en montant les étages, l’éclairage diminue. Le rendu est uniforme, convivial et accueillant, en parfaite harmonie avec « l’esprit » du projet.

En ce qui concerne l’éclairage des salles de restauration de l’hôtel ainsi que des parties communes (entrée et hall d’accueil), Benoît Bregon avait besoin de projecteurs au design épuré, compact et performant avec un flux spécifique.

Cette collaboration a cette fois permis la création du IOTA S.

Tous les luminaires sont en 2700°K.

Les plafonds sont habillés de moulures en croisillons. Afin d’en garder l’esthétisme, le calepinage a été élaboré de telle sorte que l’éclairage général soit discret et précis tout en étant techniquement simple et réglable. Ainsi, le système de fixation consiste en une ossature de rails 48v suspendus par des tubes rigides spécifiques dans lesquels viennent s’intégrer des projecteurs IOTA S. La rotule du projecteur est cachée par le rail ; Les équipements électroniques sont intégrés à l’adaptateur du luminaire et les alimentations électriques sont dissimulées à l’intérieur de tubes d’habillages au même titre que les tiges filetées.

Façade de l'hôtel Château Voltaire et restaurant

Les réglettes NAGA ont servi à l’éclairage des gorges de la réception et au rétroéclairage des banquettes, des tablettes du bar et de la bibliothèque.

Pour finir, des rubans LED ont été intégrées à des light box afin de rétroéclairer les vitraux.

Une light box est un caisson équipé au fond de rubans LED collés sur un support et d’un diffusant sur la partie avant. L’enjeu étant le calculer la distance idéale entre la plaque diffusante, l’alu-dibon et le ruban LED afin de générer une lumière diffuse à la manière de l’éclairage naturel.

Hôtel Château Voltaire -accueil

Directeur artistique : Franck Durand
Architecte d’intérieur : Charlotte de Tonnac et Hugo Sauzay – Agence Festen
Lighting Designer : Benoît Brégon – Lightmakers
Photos : Francois Halard

ARTICLE PRESSE

Château Voltaire,
l’hôtel Nouvelle Vague de Festen
IDEAT
Fanny Liaux Gasquerel
Publié le vendredi 10 décembre 2021

« Le mot du lighting designer »

Benoît Brégon de l'atelier Lightmakers

Quelles étaient vos principales problématiques ? Vos objectifs ? 

Benoit Bregon » La direction artistique du projet souhaitait créer un lieu hors du temps, chaleureux et mêlant plusieurs époques et courants décoratifs.
Notre conception lumière vient s’adapter à cette vision architecturale, à l’agencement des espaces et aux détails dessinés par l’agence FESTEN.
Nous avons ainsi adapté les intégrations lumière aux décors mis en œuvre et appuyé l’ambiance surannée et conviviale imaginée pour l’hôtel.

Pour l’intérieur, les sources de lumière sont de teinte chaude 2300K et 2700K, les détails spécifiques de l’aménagement et des mobiliers sont traités par des éclairages discrets ou masqués dans les menuiseries : les gorges lumineuses du hall sont intégrées dans les fines moulures des panneaux de soubassement muraux; les assises du restaurant, ajourées à la manière de bancs d’églises reçoivent des linaires diffusants installés en bas des meubles pour dégager une lumière enveloppante vers les murs et plafonds; les vitraux anciens de l’arrière bar sont traités comme un éclairage naturel par des boites à lumière et les plafonds à caissons historiques par des rails d’éclairage minimalistes et dissociés des plafonds, pour en respecter les boiseries et ne pas gêner la vision de l’ensemble.

Le projet est composé de plusieurs corps de bâtiment et façades, construites à différentes époques. 

Pour les extérieurs, l’ambition du maître d’œuvre de créer un ensemble architectural cohérent nécessitait de donner un lien entre les différentes façades. En accord avec le directeur artistique et l’architecte, nous avons opté pour un éclairage sobre de l’ensemble des fenêtres, permettant d’homogénéiser les dimensions et modénatures des différentes fenêtres et corniches. 

La mise en valeur de quelques détails architecturaux complète l’ensemble. Les portes d’entrées sont éclairées par des lanternes de style, les bas-reliefs de l’enseigne originale « Coquille d’or », le blason de l’hôtel et l’aménagement paysager sur la terrasse par des ensembles de petits spots. « 

Quels sont les atouts du ROMEO et du IOTA S, selon vous ?

Benoit Bregon

ROMEO
 » Pour ce projet, l’agence Louis Benech, architecte paysagiste du projet, a imaginé des jardinières aux volumes conséquents sur les appuis. Il n’était donc pas possible d’éclairer les encadrements de fenêtre par l’implantation du classique mono-spot elliptique.
Nous avons donc mis au point avec le bureau d’étude SOKA, le luminaire ROMEO, qui se positionne en applique au-dessus de la jardinière et est équipé d’une optique à faisceau lame de lumière – parallèle à la façade pour recouper avec le faisceau opposé sans déborder latéralement vers le ciel – et d’un filtre diffusant demi-lune pour atténuer l’attaque et homogénéiser l’effet sur l’ensemble de l’ouverture. Sa visière oblique réduit l’éblouissement et sa mécanique de fixation permet l’ajustement par orientation du faisceau lumineux. « 

IOTA S
 » Dimensions hors tout du rail et du spot optimisées et discrétion de la platine s’enchâssant entièrement dans le rail.
Principe de suspension et de passage de câble dans les fines suspentes tubulaires rigides, permettant d’être décollé du plafond sans câbles et visseries apparents. « 

PRODUITS UTILISÉS POUR CE PROJET

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir nos nouveautés ainsi que des infos techniques dans le domaine de l’éclairage ?

Alors n’hésitez pas à vous inscrire à notre Newsletter ! 

 

Holler Box

Bonjour, vous avez une question ?


    Holler Box
    ×